The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Book Review!

Hello guys,
I’m posting my first book review! *excited*

This week, I was re-reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower for the third time, and this time, I decided to blog about it.

It all started because my brother’s friend said that Charlie wasn’t abused. I think I ruined his favorite book by telling him what I found obvious, so this made me a bit sad, and I decided to re-read the book to make sure I was remembering things correctly, because after all… I was trying to remember what happened in a book I read 4-5 years ago!

This is one of the VERY few movie tie-in edition books that I own and actually like.

When I first read this book, many years ago, I liked it. Nothing big. Just found it okay… and I thought “hey, I’m shy and a wallflower too!” but that’s just it. I didn’t catch anything of Charlie’s abuse until the end of the book, so it didn’t impact me that much until the end. Then, I read this book again after watching the movie a couple of years ago… (probably 2013-2014? I can’t remember well. I did it just to compare the book vs the movie.)

Recently, I found myself in a debate about the things that are wrong with Charlie’s character, which led me to re-read this book. (Like I said in the beginning) and OH MY GOD! This kid is WAY more damaged than before, BUT HOW CAN THAT BE? Am I not reading the same book!? How could this be?! If the book is the same, then it means I changed.

Yeah Charlie… you tell them. There’s so much pain in this book! The characters are all flawed. They’re wounded, they cry, they hurt… they get hurt.

A person can grow up a lot in 6 years (specially with the high school to college transition)… and I noticed a lot more “triggering” images in the book, than when I read this as a high school student. I’ve lived many disturbing and sad life experiences, which I am not going to get into… *too personal*, but one thing hasn’t changed; I can still identify myself as a “wallflower”… I’ll always be that shy girl that never really gets out of her comfort zone, so she’s just there… staring… watching… and being quiet. That will always be me. But Charlie? Charlie wasn’t really a wallflower… he was just a troubled kid who needed the “perfect” or near-perfect people in his life to make him come out of his troubled childhood shell.

You go Charlie! YOU LIVE! YOU BE HAPPY! YOU FEEL INFINITE!

While I do understand many of his actions, there were so many screwed up things with his surroundings that just don’t seem to fit the “high school” criteria for me, but then again… everyone has their own opinion and experiences to compare to.

When I read this back in 2012, I gave it 5 stars, now that I can understand other things… I’m dropping it to 4. It’s weird how you grow-up, understand a book more, and actually like it a little bit less…

Overall: 4.5/5 stars (Sounds fair to average it, right?)

signature

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Drew Martin says:

    It isn’t often I come across a new blogger’s very first post. I like the design and presentation. Good luck and I hope it adds something to your life. Don’t feel bad if you don’t see a lot of growth early, it takes time. As for the book, I keep seeing positive reviews all over the place. I may have to add it to my book list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This means a lot, thank you! ♥
      And about the book, maybe you should! It’s a very quick read (1-2 sittings at most) and you could see it all for yourself haha.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Drew Martin says:

        If I read it I’ll have to watch the film version too. I looked for it at my public library earlier in the year and couldn’t find it.

        Like

  2. This is one of my favorite books. Great review!!

    Like

  3. NocturnalJen says:

    Love this review. I think anyone who reads it will have a different experience, personally it is one of my favourites. I also just wrote a review but it wasn’t so much about how the book affected me. I don’t actually really know how it affected me all I know is that I love it dearly (the book and the film) but I feel almost scared to revisit it. It really made me feel a lot and played on my mind for a long time. Kind of feel like I’m hiding from something sometimes with it. Sounds stupid really haha.

    https://tenmoreminutesblog.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

