Somewhere in Between – Book Review

Somewhere In Between

Somewhere in Between
by Katie Li
146 Pages
Published August 25th 2015.

“Two friends find a portal to another dimension and use this “in-between place” to avoid the stress of their everyday lives. What they don’t realize is that every time they enter, they alter reality.

Pseudo-punk Magnolia and underachieving gamer-geek Rom are two unlikely friends who only hang out during their walks home together after school. When they find the a portal that leads to different worlds, they use the “in-between place” as an escape from their lives in high school, then later, after college.

Their visits through the portal bring them teetering along a tight-rope of fantasy and reality, where they don’t always believe what is in front of them, not even their feelings for each other. “

Lately, I’ve been trying to read books by “unknown authors”, well, at least unknown to me so I can explore a little bit more than the YA everyone is reading. I contacted author Katie Li because I found her book and thought it was very interesting. Gladly, she agreed to send me a copy for review (thank you Katie!).

This book is gorgeous! Seriously, if I hasn’t gotten a review copy, I might have just gotten it for the cover alone (I tend to do that a lot…). Anyway, I really wanted to like this book.

We have a lovely pair of characters who have found a portal to a place where time doesn’t seem to exist. (This kind of confused me a bit, and I tried to understand it more through-out the book, but I didn’t get the answers I was looking for.) Anyway, this “in-between” place is where they go to avoid certain things or decisions they have to make in life. I’m sure we all would love to have a place like this, huh?

I loved the characters, their chemistry at the beginning of the book had me hooked. The plot is VERY interesting and I actually wish I had a bit more of it, IF it was executed better. My problem, that made reading this book a little painful, was the time transitions. I had to re-read a couple of times to understand if the current scene was taking place in the past or the present.

If I had some way to know when something was taking place, I’m sure I would have given this book 4 or even 5 stars; but since this is not the case, I’ll be going with 2.5 stars.

Rating: ★★★
(2.5 stars)

signature

One Comment Add yours

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    Yeah, that does sound like an interesting concept! Good for you for getting her to send you a copy…that’s amazing that she sent you one because they are expensive for the unknown authors to pay for. But hopefully it will spread the word about her book, and I have to agree, the cover is beautiful. Good review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

