{Labyrinth Lost – Book Review} Celebrate Halloween with a spark of Latin Culture!

Hi guys, I couldn’t let October end without posting a review for a Halloween-ish book!

My halloween book choice is a newly released YA book called Labyrinth Lost.
This book caught my attention because not only it’s the perfect October read, but it also celebrates Latin Culture! {We need more books that talk about other cultures, PLEASE!}

Special thanks to the amazing Maya from Socialbookco.com for providing me a copy to review!

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1)
Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1)
by Zoraida Córdova
336 pages
Published: September 6, 2016.
Goodreads Rating: 3.84 Stars ( 1,067 Ratings)

My rating: 3.75 (⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆) 

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Okay guys, I really wanted to read this book for MANY reasons, the ones that come to mind right now are the following:

  1. It seemed like the perfect Halloween read.
  2. It celebrates Latin culture.
  3. It’s compared to “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” – Which is one of my favorite books EVER!
  4. I’ve been extremely into fantasy lately – which is the genre of this book -.

postdivider01

Our main character, Alex, is an Encantrix. She is the most powerful bruja in her family, or well, she’s expected to be the most powerful (Who knows, eh?) But surprise surprise… she doesn’t want her powers! She sees them as a burden and while trying to get rid of her powers she ends up sending her family to Los Lagos.

Now Nova – the bad-ass looking handsome boy we must always have in a book – and Rishi – the bff who doesn’t know all the secrets -go on a journey to save Alex’s family.

Let’s meet the villain! The Devourer… I wish I could tell you about this character, but this book lacked on developing the villain. WHAT? Yes. If you want a good hero, you also need a good villain. This book lacked this IMPORTANT element, and this is the main reason as to why this book did not get a higher rating from me.

The Devourer is in the story, obviously. We see she’s the bad gal, but honestly, we don’t see much of her. The little information we get, doesn’t help us get an image of how terrible she really is (or should be).

We get a Love Triangle, which is something I tend to hate, but the author seems to be taking a different spin with this one, so I do want to know what happens in the next book! I don’t want to spoil anything, but we seem to have a bi-sexual main character, so if you’re all in for diversity and bisexual representation, PICK THIS BOOK UP!

I really love seeing authors showing us other cultures. Specially as a Latina, I want to see books that represent us. I want to see authors from our heritage, from our countries, from our cultures be successful too.

As usual, I have to share my favorite quote, before wrapping up my review. 

“Not all loves are meant to last forever. Some burn like fire until there is nothing left but ash and black ink on skin.”

You might not understand it, until you get towards the end of the book. But it really hit me… 

I wanted to love this book enough to give it 5 stars, but I couldn’t. Regardless, it was good enough to keep me hooked and intrigued to know what happens with the following books in the series. BRING IT ON ZORAIDA!

sylviasignature

If you’d like to purchase a copy of Labyrinth Lost,
click HERE to find the lowest price on the market!
(Courtesy of Socialbookco.com)

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I want to read this badly…hopefully will have time and a copy soon! 😉

    Like

  2. Ishita says:

    Loved the review! I had the same issue with the Devourer! Felt she made for a pretty weak villainous character..

    Like

Leave a Reply

