Book Review: “The Baby” by Lisa Drakeford

Hi guys! If you follow me on Instagram (@Serialbibliophile),
then you might have seen me post a picture of this book full of annotations.

I read this book as part of a small “project” called The Wandering Pages. This project consists of seven girls who will read, annotate, comment, and send a book each.Every month I’ll be getting a book to participate in the project. At the end of the month, I send it to the next person to make their annotations. After the 7 month period, I should have my book back with annotations and thoughts of all 7 girls! Sounds cool, right?

My pick was The Baby by Lisa Drakeford, I just finished it and it is ready to be sent to the next girl who will read it! Now, onto my review:

The Baby
The Baby
by Lisa Drakeford
256 Pages
Published: October 25, 2016.
Originally Published: July 1st, 2015.

Goodreads rating: 3.37 (234 Ratings)

My Rating: 3.5 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆)

“When Olivia opens the bathroom door, the last thing she expects to see is her best friend Nicola giving birth on the floor – and to say Nicola is surprised is an understatement. She’s not ready to be a mum, and she needs Olivia’s help. But Olivia has her own problems – specifically her bullying boyfriend, Jonty, and keeping an eye on younger sister Alice. And then there’s Nicola’s friend Ben, who’s struggling with secrets of his own …”

First of all, I thought this was going to be a book told from Olivia’s point of view; but as it turns out, it is actually a book with many point of views. We learn about the story from different perspectives – Olivia, Nicola, Alice, Jonty, and Ben. However, I loved that it was written this way. The PoVs did not play out the same events from different perspectives, each chapter/PoV is a month on that character’s life AFTER the initial event, which made the book flow nicely and feel well put together.

The book begins with Olivia’s 17th birthday party, where her friend (who did not know she was pregnant) gives birth! There’s not much that I can say on this book, without spoiling the information. But let’s say that each chapter – based on a character each – gets really emotional as we see everyone’s struggles.

There’s an abusive relationship in this story, and I was SO MAD that even though the character knows that she’s in a toxic relationship, somehow she stays there! I gave it some thought, and I believe it has a strong purpose. This happens in real life, and maybe girls could read this and see the faults in their relationships too.

My favorite character was Ben. In this story, he is the best friend who happens to be gay, he’s the supportive friend who tries to mend things and help everyone regardless of how bad things seem. He’s amazing. ♥ Alice is also a lovely character, I felt so sad when reading things from her PoV, but she’s so strong and nice. She deserves the world.

This book is not just about an unwanted pregnancy, its about betrayal, friendship, family, and the struggles teenagers go through. I think the author did a great job in describing and giving life to each character. Sadly, the ending – for me – was too vague. I felt like more things needed closure and they were just left there for our imagination.

Overall Rating: 3.5 stars

sylviasignature

Leave a Reply

