OFF WITH HIS HEAD! {Heartless – Book Review}

Hi guys! I recently finished a book that has left me empty and just feeling weird… I’ve been trying to put my feelings (or lack of feelings?) into words. So, after 3 days, here is my attempt.

I read “Heartless” as part of the December read along for SocialBookClub! If you’re curious about what this awesome book club is, click here.

Heartless

Heartless
by Marissa Meyer
449 Pages
Published: November 8, 2016.
Goodreads rating: 4.11 stars (8,345 Ratings)

My Rating: 3.75 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆)
Find the lowest price here.

“Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.”

It is widely known, that this book is a prequel about the Queen of Hearts. Which means, that it is very obvious that we are not getting a happy ending on this book. Then why are people talking about feeling so heartbroken if they already know they’re not gonna get a happy ending? Well… as someone who was not invested at all in this book for the first 100-ish pages, let me tell you that once the Catherine/Jest ship gets built, YOU WANT IT TO STAY SAFE!

This book is about Catherine, the Queen of Hearts – to be. She is daughter of a Marquess/Marchioness, an amazingly talented baker, and the future bride to the King of Hearts. While Catherine just wishes to open a bakery (the best in all of Hearts may I add!), her parents have high expectations for her, which revolve around being a queen. It is very frustrating to see the lack of relationship she has with her parents. Someone needs to smack some sense into them. The “best” thing for you might not be the best thing for your kids! (WHO WOULD HAVE KNOWN?!?)

The first 100-ish pages were a bit dull for me. Sure, we had a lot of references that makes the world recognizable, but I just wasn’t feeling it. Now, once the relationship between Catherine and Jest develops, I get REALLY invested in the book. The King is such a sweet guy, honestly! But he’s too naive and while he does treat Catherine nicely, he just can’t compare to Jest. Oh Marissa, you know how to play with a girl’s heart.

This book brings up some sexist issues, for example, Catherine wants to open a bake shop and her parents tell her that it is not her place to be “going into the men’s world of business” and OH BOY, this girl can definitely go on a huge rant about this. But things like these are the ones that truly help build up the ignorance and arrogance of her parents, which made me hate them SO MUCH. Seriously, if they would have been supportive of Catherine, none of this would have happened!

As for the characters in this book… I love Cheshire, I love the Hatter, I love the Raven, I love Jest! Gosh, this book has some amazing secondary characters! *Although I consider Jest a main character* The elements these characters bring, truly makes you get the Wonderland “feels” – we even get the whole tea party crew in here!

Some parts of the book felt too rushed. I can’t go into details without spoiling anything, but let’s say that there’s parts when Catherine is all happy, and 2 paragraphs later she’s about to unleash hell… at other times, it felt like she made important decisions too quickly.

As usual, before wrapping up a review I like to share my favorite quote from the book!

“You know as well as I that you’re going to break at least one heart before this is over, and I want nothing more to do with you.” – Hatter

When he said this, it felt like an immediate “mic drop” moment. I’m here figuring out the true intentions of the Hatter, and although they never change through the book, my perspective of them truly did. This quote means something when he first says it, and then means something completely different about 100 pages later.

Heartless is a book that shows a “negative development” in the character. Catherine goes through some big changes, but never for the better. She becomes desperate, she becomes mad and crazy. She desperately seeks revenge. She never takes responsibility for her actions (or at times, for her lack of action). When she turns into the Queen of Hearts, she truly becomes Heartless… and I was so invested in this book, that by the end of it, it left me feeling just as empty.

The sweet girl with the dream of owning a bakery… is dead.

Overall Rating: 3.75 ⋆

sylviasignature

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this, but I don’t think I’ll get to it this month! I love your focus on the sexist issues in the book and the idea of a parent’s dreams overtaking their child’s. Great review! Found you through your bookstagram, which is gorgeous! I just started my own quite recently!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Let me know what’s your bookstagram username so I can follow you back 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks! it’s @napoleonsplitreads!

        Like

  2. I just finished it and oh my god! It’s been about an hour since I shut the book and I’m still screaming internally. Like holy frigging shit. I’m sorry but I’m not fully articulate yet, but I have all these feelings and I need to let them out. Hatta pretty much broke my heart again in the end (and personally I could have done with that particular revelation a little earlier.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! I know everyone says they felt heartbroken but well… I was expecting this to happen. What I did not expect was feeling empty once I was done.

      Catherine’s drastic change from being a sweet girl with hopes and dreams and then turning into a heartless queen is just… sad. 😦

      So much happened inbetween! :O

      Like

  3. Aww, that is the saddest way to put it! (I haven’t read Heartless despite the fact I have the book sitting in my room somewhere.) I agree with that quote though – it DOES sound like a mic drop moment. It also sounds extremely ominous, which might be a foreshadowing of the ending (now I sound a little too analytical).

    ~Sophia @ Bookwyrming Thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Foreshadow! That was the word I was looking for haha.

      And thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

  4. TeacherofYA says:

    Deep review as always!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

