{the princess saves herself in this one – Mini Review}

Hi guys! I have not read a poetry book since the bad experience I had with Love & Misadventure by Lang Leav in 2015… so I was very skeptical to pick up this book at first; but I kept hearing so many amazing things, that I could not resist!

(Spoiler Alert: I am so THANKFUL for giving this collection a try.)

the princess saves herself in this one

the princess saves herself in this one
by Amanda Lovelace
208 pages
Published: February 14 2017 *
Goodreads rating: 4.13 stars (4,690 Ratings)

My Rating: 3.75 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆)

* This book was originally released in April 2016, but this is a review of the new edition to be released next month.

“From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.”

I’ve found reviews bashing this type of poetry, comparing it to “classic” poetry; and I’m not going to talk like these poems are really deep and intellectual… Because it definitely isn’t the same as what those people are comparing it to; but that doesn’t mean that these poems are not meaningful!

This poetry collection is divided into four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. There were poems that got me thinking so much, I had to drop the book for the rest of the day and just think about it. So no, this was not something I could “devour” in one sitting, because it kept me thinking too much.

I’m not talking about how I interpreted the poems; because poetry can mean different things to everyone; but I did enjoy the poems and you could see how the author grows from the “damsel in distress” to an empowered woman/queen.

At times, I found myself reading the same poems multiple times before feeling ready to pass the page. While there are some poems that hit home, regarding family and self-love, my favorite poem was about millennials.

On all my reviews I share my favorite quote, so for this mini-review I will share my favorite poem from the book.

we are the generation
you gave participant
trophies to.

we are the generation
you made wear helmets,
elbow pads, & kneepads.

we are the generation
you gave censored CDs
& PG movies to.

we are the generation
you spent years overprotecting
then threw to the wolves.

now we are the generation
running on nothing but coffee
& three hours of sleep.

we are the generation
working minimum-wage jobs
with college degrees.

we are the generation
making just enough
money to survive.

we are the generation
you didn’t want to see fail
then ensured that we did.

– millenials.

I read the new edition that is coming out in February 2017 and includes new poems!
I obtained an ebook version from NetGalley.

Overall rating: 3.75 stars

newsignature

2 Comments Add yours

  1. nicholeqw1023 says:

    I’m not really into poetry either but that does sound like an interesting collection. I’ll put it on my to read list.

    Like

  2. I’ve been wanting to read this for such a long time after I finished Milk and Honey + Amanda is amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

