Queens of Geek – (ARC) Book Review!

Hey guys! Last month I read an AMAZING book, and I couldn’t find the time to review it properly, so here I am… a month later, spilling my thoughts on this great book; Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde! * eARC provided by NetGalley

I read this book as part of a readathon in January, and I’ve included it in my #DiversityBingo2017 card because it’s an own voices book with neurodiverse characters. (Hurray for diverse books in 2017!)

Queens of Geek

Queens of Geek
by Jen Wilde
288 pages
Expected Publication: March 14, 2017.
Goodreads Rating: 4.47 stars (99 Ratings)

My Rating: 4.5 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆)

“When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Jason Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.”

First of all, this book was initially published via WattPad, and I am not sure how much the story changes (if it does change at all), so my review will not make any reference to the WattPad version, just the eARC that I was provided via NetGalley.

Queens of Geek is the Disneyland book for geeks! (Specially if you’re Australian, because the MCs are Autralians!) The book takes place during a weekend long convention, called “SupaCon”! Think about Comic Con, but 10 times better. 😉

The book is told from different POVs, of course, our BFFs trio have different experiences at SupaCon, and the book covers each experience pretty well. The diversity is this book is ON POINT! Autistic MC, Chinese-Australian MC, f/f romance, an openly bi character, and my favorite diverse area is that one of the MCs suffers anxiety and the way it’s described is 100% me. I even felt like crying just because I could SEE MYSELF in that character!

This book is full of fantastic representation!

Anyway… the book takes place in a convention, this is a first for me, and I LOVED IT! This book is full of pop culture references, which ranged from hilarious to plain geeky (and I loved every second of it!). TV shows, movies, Harry Potter, Supernatural, Youtubers, Tumblr, bloggers, etc etc etc… this book HAS IT ALL. Also, one of the MCs is a total fangirl for an author of her favorite book series, and I know we can all relate to that!

[I’m not mentioning names, just saying “MCs”, just in case anyone considers anything that I’m saying a “spoiler”, then at least they don’t know which character I’m talking about.]

Another of the MCs is openly bisexual, and at one point the book touches the topic of how she discovered it.This author managed to talk about many diverse topics and make them all feel genuine. There’s even a character who is “all for equality” but doesn’t believe in bisexuality. (Lol… I know people like that IRL and it makes me sick.)

“I’m not a homophobe or anything, I’m all for gay marriage and all that, but bisexuality? I just don’t believe it’s real.”

GUYSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! This is just one of the MANY behaviours this book calls out.

“He’s all for equality, but he doesn’t even believe bisexuality exists.” She rubbed her fingers over the space between her eyebrows like she had a headache. “You can’t pick and choose whose equality you support. That’s not equality.”

Oh my God! Reading this gave me life! You can feel her frustration.

Also, there’s an autistic book inside this book… #bookception! How awesome is that? There’s representation inside the book with representation! I just… wow… this book is amazing. 

My favorite thing about the book, is how anxiety is represented and talked about. I’ve never read a book that touched the topic in such an authentic way. It really moved me. It made me feel better because, for once, I felt understood.

“I’ve lost count of the times people have called me a bitch or a snob, misinterpreting my shyness or lack of eye contact as disrespect or rudeness.”

“My anxiety is invisible to others, but often it’s the focal point of my mind. Everything that happens on a day-to-day basis is filtered through a lens colored by anxiety. That nervousness that makes your pals sweat and your heart race before you get up and make a speech in front if an audience? That’s what I feel in a normal conversation at a dinner table.”

Another amazing thing this book brought up is the sexism in the acting/movie industry. Which is clearly visible by the dumb and/or superficial questions women are given in interviews, when compared to men.

“This is the third interviewer in a row who’s asked Reese an in-depth question about his job as an actor, and then asked me about my workout and diet regimen. I want to tell this guy to ask me something else, but I don’t want to look like a bitch or get in trouble with the studio, so I grin and bear it yet again.”

I feel like I can easily quote ten more things, but I tend to quote one or two things only, so I’ve passed my usual limit. But trust me… this book is SO GOOD! The only reason I’m not giving the book 5 stars is because there is some romance that felt too “insta-love”. I mean… I’m all in for romance, but don’t make it all happen too quick (you know?). I might be asking for too much, since the book DOES take place in just one weekend… *sigh* I’m conflicted. BUT, there’s also another romance that’s just PERFECT! So I guess that evens it out?

Overall, this book is great. It’s a fun, quick read, with great representation and some good call-outs of things people say and do on the daily *winks*. Now go and preorder Queens of Geek! It’s currently priced at $6; which is SUPER AMAZING for a new release!

Happy Reading!

newsignature

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I wasn’t very sure about this book because the cover didn’t resonate with me and I didn’t find the other reviews that interesting. However, I really liked the quotes you chose and might be giving this book a chance. Do you know if it’s #ownvoices?

    Like

    1. Thank you! I have to admit, the cover doesn’t stand out (other than the color haha) but I’m so glad my review encouraged you! I really enjoyed the book, I hope you enjoy it too and yes, the book is own voices! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t see this book yet but now it’s on my tbr 🙂

    Like

  3. bookevin says:

    This is a great review, Sylvia. I’ve got my eye on Queens of Geek because it sounds wonderful. Also, it reminds me of one of my favourite YA series: Geek Girl by Holly Smale!

    Like

  4. ceearrbooknerd says:

    I was hesitant about this one – but you’ve just convinced me to add it to my TBR! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

