{I Believe in a Thing Called Love – eARC Review}

Hi everyone! One diverse book I’ve been really excited for is “I Believe in a Thing Called Love” by Maurene Goo. It seems like a fun contemporary story about a girl who excels at everything, EXCEPT love!

Thanks to Macmillan for approving me via NetGalley for an eARC of this book!

I Believe in a Thing Called Love
I Believe in a Thing Called Love
by Maurene Goo
336 Pages
Publication Date: May 30, 2017.
Goodreads Rating: 4.04 stars (81 Ratings)

My Rating: 4.5 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆)

Desi Lee knows how carburetors work. She learned CPR at the age of five. As a high school senior, she has never missed a day of school and has never had a B in her entire life. She’s for sure going to Stanford. But—she’s never had a boyfriend. In fact, she’s a disaster in romance, a clumsy, stammering humiliation-magnet whose botched attempts at flirting have become legendary with her friends. So when the hottest human specimen to have ever lived walks into her life one day, Desi decides to tackle her flirting failures with the same zest she’s applied to everything else in her life. She finds her answer in the Korean dramas her father has been obsessively watching for years—where the hapless heroine always seems to end up in the arms of her true love by episode ten. It’s a simple formula, and Desi is a quick study. Armed with her “K Drama Rules for True Love,” Desi goes after the moody, elusive artist Luca Drakos—and boat rescues, love triangles, and fake car crashes ensue. But when the fun and games turn to true feels, Desi finds out that real love is about way more than just drama.

First of all, I want to say that you DON’T need to be an expert in Korean dramas to enjoy this book. I’ve never watched a full k-drama and I loved this book SO MUCH! Of course, since I’m no k-drama expert, I can’t talk about the accuracy of the way the steps are executed in the story.

Desi, our MC,  gets straight A’s, she’s in every club you can imagine, she’s responsible, admirable, and has her mind set in going to a great university and being a successful doctor. So of course, the girl who has academic excellence, cannot find love. She needs to have a plan for everything, even for falling in love, otherwise she fails (and miserably may I add…) She finds inspiration in the K dramas her father watches (and soon she becomes addicted to them too!), where you see the same formula over and over, which always leads to a happy ending. Desi believes she can create a perfect plan, following all of the K drama steps, and win over Luca – the new artist hunk – of the school.

I loved the plan Desi develops, of course I did find it dumb to make a list following K dramas, like… that’s not how life and love works! BUT, who am I to judge? I’ve tried my fair share of ridiculous things in order to get a guy to like me (and have failed miserably too… LOL). I did hate how manipulative Desi got at times… I don’t want to spoil anything but she goes VERY far a couple of times and ugh… it really pissed me off. I get that as teenagers, we “play games” and don’t talk straightforward when it comes to liking someone… but to go as far as causing *spoiler alert* a car accident?! NOPE NOPE NOPE NOPE. But I’m only taking half a star off from that, because putting that aside, the concept of the list makes for a hilarious contemporary read. I enjoyed how every chapter is a step, which makes the book format easy to follow and overall a fun reading experience!

Desi’s relationship with her father is an important piece of this book, which I love! I really enjoy it when parents are involved in a book, I mean, they’re part of your life… they’re important! So I do love that this book shows an amazing relationship between a father and a daughter, specially after losing a loved one.

This is probably the best contemporary book I’ve read in a looooong time. It’s fun, easy to read, and hilarious! If you’re looking for a book to lift up your mood, or just a cute and funny romance, then this is the book you need! As an amazing bonus, the characters are very diverse and well… LOOK AT THAT COVER! ♥♥♥

Overall rating: 4 stars
This book came out on May 30, (With the paperback releasing the next month!) and I hope contemporary readers give it a chance!

newsignature

Leave a Reply

