When Dimple Met Rishi – Rant? Review? Why not both?!

Hey guys! Today I’m bringing a review written by frustration… why, you may ask? I recently read a review hating on When Dimple Met Rishi, and I knew I had to share my thoughts on this book.

I’ve heard (well, read) people saying that this book is cliché, that it’s too “bollywood” and that it’s overhyped and a total disappointment… well, I have to give my two cents here. So bear with me in this short, but full of rage review of WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI.

When Dimple Met Rishi
When Dimple Met Rishi
by Sandhya Menon
380 Pages
Publication Date: May 30, 2017.
Goodreads Rating: 4.0 stars (4,345 Ratings)

My Rating: 4.5 stars (⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆ ⋆)

Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

The Rant

I’m gonna start my review with my rant because I’m just so mad at the people that are hating on this book. I can’t change their minds, and everyone has a different taste for books, BUT if you’re hating this book for the reasons I’m about to say… consider yourself part of the problems with this world.

HOW RACIST DO YOU NEED TO BE TO SAY THAT THIS BOOK IS TOO “BOLLYWOOD”? The only reason one would think this is “too Bollywood” is because this book features two Indian main characters. So please, spare the world of your racist comparisons.

Is this book cliché? It’s a YOUNG ADULT ROMANCE NOVEL! Of course it’s cliché! I’ve read my fair share of young adult romances and they all follow a format… they’re predictable, but they’re also adorable and fun. When Dimple Met Rishi is just that! A fun, adorable, and totally predictable romance novel featuring two diverse characters. While it follows the same pattern, this book is different because it shows us a different culture. It shows us different characters. It represents people we usually don’t see written in paper. So why call out this book as predictable when you have read other books THAT FOLLOW THE SAME PATTERN? Is it because this book has characters that represent marginalized people? Is it because it’s written by an author of color? Or is it both?

The Review

When Dimple Met Rishi is probably the best romantic comedy I have ever read! It’s fun, hilarious, relateable, and swoon-worthy!

Dimple is a strong, smart, and ambitious girl that has her mind set on becoming a web developer. She does not believe in being traditional, and has no interest in being set up with “the ideal Indian husband”. Rishi is a traditional and hopeless romantic, with a hidden passion for art and comics. Unlike Dimple, he is open to being set-up and following the footsteps of his parents when it comes to love.

They meet in a summer program, and their first encounter was a DISASTER! They must work together to develop an app for a contest, and this is where their relationship really develops.

THEY COULDN’T BE ANY MORE DIFFERENT, AND THAT’S WHAT MAKES THE STORY SO GOOD!

The book is a predictable YA romance, but it’s also perfect in every way. It has amazing character development, the story is fast paced but not “too fast”, the representation is AMAZING (South Asian representation!), the characters are fun and relateable, and you just want to root for them to be together! Even the secondary characters are full of life and have their important moments. I loved it all!

There was ONE detail that I didn’t like about the book, and it has nothing to do with the way the author wrote the story… it’s just something personal that I hate to see in YA novels. SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER ALERT! I hate those “the perfect first time” sex scenes. SPOILER OVER. Ok. You should be safe now… keep reading!

Other than that ONE detail, as I previously said, the story is perfect in EVERY WAY!

Today I also learned that we’ll be getting a companion novel, “When Ashish Met Sweetie” and I am SUPER excited for it! Ashish is Rishi’s brother, we’ll see more from him! The bad news is that it’s a 2019 release, so we got a loooot of waiting to do!

Overall rating: 4.5 stars

newsignature

2 Comments Add yours

  1. spinatale1 says:

    I entirely agree with your review! I thought this book was entirely adorable

    Like

  2. I absolutely loved this one and I saw so much of myself in Dimple which is something I didn’t expect at all. The spoiler you said bothered me so much but I loved how they actually communicated. It bothered me that she was constantly hitting him which was pointed out by someone else and then that was all I focused on.
    I did want it to be a bit more focused on the app development instead of the talent show. The contest was barely mentioned yet it was the whole reason they were there. (Okay, I’m done basically writing a review for it.)
    I normally don’t read YA contemporary but everyone was raving about this one so I read it during A Clockwork Orange for mental breaks.
    Also,

    Like

Leave a Reply

